The Pettitfiles

The most excellent miss adventures of Jonny P~The drifter

 

I am a drifter, a peddler, a poet, certainly no saint.

 

I wander, I roam, making excuses for not building homes. Family ties form knots loosened by years, I distance myself from all these peers.

 

Audacious, crafty, peeling like an orange, in love I am yours till morning, gone with the tide, pulled away by earth, shared by everyone.

 

I ride miles of endless banners ‘neath star dotted sky, skin newly wrinkled by life and times, my throat parched, eyes heavy with burden of all I’ve seen and done.

 

Rocks and trees are the keepers of time, rivers form the veins, stomachs made of lakes, the mountains and peaks make the brows, everything under them be our eyes.

 

I saw you in dusk for the first, of many dreams. A twisted shape made of fates I attach myself to, burning with relevance I reached to touch but the mirage faded until just the cusp of sunlight plumed above the earth.

2 responses

  1. Kathi Wearne

    You always continue to amaze me with your writing. This is reminiscent of words of long ago but has a fresh feeling to it; keep it up my friend. You will forever be one of my favorite writers.

    June 4, 2011 at 9:56 am

  2. Good one buddy

    June 7, 2011 at 8:51 am

Leave a Reply

